West Yadkin Elementary

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
District Home

Landmarks

For each landmark, complete the following online project:

 

 

Europe:


http://www.kidzworld.com/article/28412-monuments-in-europe

http://blog.eurail.com/top-10-natural-wonders-in-europe-by-train/



  1. The Eiffel Tower http://www.eiffeltowerfacts.org/eiffel-tower-facts-for-kids/
  2. Big Ben http://factsforkids.net/big-ben-facts-kids-exciting-8-facts-clock-tower/ Big Ben is made of...
  3. Stonehenge https://kidskonnect.com/history/stonehenge/
  4. The Tower of London http://quatr.us/medieval/architecture/towerlondon.htm
  5. The Parthenon http://gogreece.about.com/od/athenssightseeing1/a/parthenonathens.htm
  6. The Arc de Triomphe http://primaryfacts.com/3110/arc-de-triomphe-facts-and-information/
  7. The Trevi Fountain http://www.aroundrometours.com/interesting-facts-about-the-trevi-fountain-art14-uid1.htm
  8. La Sagrada Familia https://theculturetrip.com/europe/spain/articles/15-amazing-facts-you-need-to-know-about-la-sagrada-familia/
  9. The Leaning Tower of Pisa http://www.travel-to-tuscany.org/leaning-tower-of-pisa.html
  10. The Colosseum http://www.ducksters.com/history/ancient_rome/colosseum.php
  11. Cliffs of Moher http://www.beautifulworld.com/europe/ireland/cliffs-of-moher/
  12. The Dolomites in Northern Italy http://tenrandomfacts.com/dolomites/
  13. Fjords of Norway http://www.robertqbyron.com/post/view/10-interesting-facts-about-the-fjords-of-norway
  14. Northern Lights of Sweden, Finland, Norway, and Iceland http://www.fun-facts.org.uk/wonders_of_world/northern_lights.htm
  15. Berchtesgaden National Park, Germany http://www.bavaria.by/bavaria-berchtesgaden-national-park
  16. Chamonix, Mont Blanc (The Alps) http://primaryfacts.com/1940/mont-blanc-facts/
  17. Melissani Cave http://twistedsifter.com/2012/08/melissani-cave-kefalonia-greece/
  18. Plitvice Lakes National Park http://landlopers.com/2013/06/30/plitvice
  19. Eisriesenwelt http://www.beautifulworld.com/europe/austria/eisriesenwelt-cave
  20. The Black Forest http://www.ukgermanconnection.org/kids-black-forest https://sites.google.com/a/apps.edina.k12.mn.us/maggie-black-forest-2010/fun-facts

Asia:


http://travel.allwomenstalk.com/manmade-ancient-wonders-of-asia

http://misadventuresmag.com/stunning-natural-landmarks-asia/


  1. The Great Wall of China http://factsforkids.net/great-wall-of-china-facts-for-kids/
  2. Taj Mahal http://factsforkids.net/taj-mahal-facts-kids/
  3. Hagia Sophia http://www.softschools.com/facts/wonders_of_the_world/hagia_sophia_facts/97/
  4. Petra http://ohfact.com/interesting-facts-about-petra/
  5. Potala Palace http://www.chinahighlights.com/lhasa/attraction/potala-palace.htm
  6. Borobudur Temple http://justfunfacts.com/interesting-facts-about-borobudur/
  7. Angkor Wat http://www.insider-journeys.com/blog/facts-about-the-temples-of-angkor http://www.tourismcambodia.com/attractions/angkor/angkor-wat.htm
  8. Bagan http://justfunfacts.com/interesting-facts-about-bagan/
  9. Qin’s Terracotta Army http://www.ducksters.com/history/china/terracotta_army.php
  10. Forbidden City http://www.ducksters.com/history/china/forbidden_city.php
  11. Banaue Rice Terraces http://www.budgettravelwarehouse.com/post/view/10-interesting-facts-about-the-banaue-terrances
  12. Arashiyama Bamboo Forest http://www.charismaticplanet.com/sagano-bamboo-forest-japan/
  13. Zhangjiajie National Forest Park https://www.travelchinaguide.com/attraction/gansu/zhangye/danxia-landform-geopark.htm http://www.chinahighlights.com/zhangye/attraction/danxia-landform-geological-park.htm
  14. Red Beach, Panjin http://tenrandomfacts.com/panjin-red-beach/
  15. Jiuzhaigou Valley http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/637
  16. Zhangye Danxia Landform https://www.travelchinaguide.com/attraction/gansu/zhangye/danxia-landform-geopark.htm http://www.chinahighlights.com/zhangye/attraction/danxia-landform-geological-park.htm
  17. Chocolate Hills, Bohol http://www.chocolatehills.net
  18. Puerto Princesa Underground River http://www.softschools.com/facts/wonders_of_the_world/puerto_princesa_underground_river_facts/139/
  19. The Plain of Jars http://www.ancient-origins.net/ancient-places-asia/mysterious-plain-megalithic-jars-001072
  20. Shimmering shores of Vaadhoo http://planetden.com/nature/sea-stars-vaadhoo-island-maldives
  21. Ha Long Bay http://www.softschools.com/facts/wonders_of_the_world/halong_bay_facts/137/
  22. The Stone Forest http://tenrandomfacts.com/shilin-stone-forest/
  23. Mount Fuji http://factsforkids.net/mount-fuji-facts-for-kids-highest-peak-japan/
  24. Gobi Desert http://primaryfacts.com/1405/the-gobi-desert-facts-and-information/
  25. Reed Flute Cave http://www.guilinchina.net/attraction/reed-flute-cave.htm
  26. Beppu ONSEN (hot springs) http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e4701.html
  27. Mount Everest http://http://factsforkids.net/mount-everest-facts-kids//mount-everest-facts-kids/

North America:

http://www.discovery.com/tv-shows/north-america/top-10/natural-wonders/

http://www.bayoffundy.com/

  1. Mount Rushmore http://factsforkids.net/mount-rushmore-facts-kids/ 
  2. Golden Gate Bridge http://factsforkids.net/golden-gate-bridge-facts-kids/
  3. Space Needle http://wiki.kidzsearch.com/wiki/Space_Needle
  4. Empire State Building http://factsforkids.net/empire-state-building-facts-kids/
  5. Hoover Dam http://www.softschools.com/facts/us_national_landmarks/hoover_dam_facts/495/
  6. Red Rock Country (Includes 5 National Parks: Arches, Zion, Bryce Canyon, Canyonlands, and Capitol Reef) http://azstateparks.com/parks/rero/science.html
  7. Acadia http://www.softschools.com/facts/us_national_landmarks/acadia_national_park_facts/522
  8. Death Valley http://www.myinterestingfacts.com/death-valley-facts/ http://www.austinadventures.com/travel-resources/10-ridiculously-cool-things-didnt-know-death-valley/
  9. Everglades https://www.nps.gov/ever/learn/kidsyouth/learning-about-the-everglades.htm
  10. Mammoth Cave http://www.gallopade.com/client/PDFs/Bats/Fascinating_Mammoth_Cave_Trivia.pdf
  11. Redwood Forest

    http://santacruz.hilltromper.com/article/ten-amazing-facts-about-redwoods (this is about the trees in the park) http://redwoodnationalparkjgmf.weebly.com/index.html This one is about the park--look at the tabs at the top

  12. Yosemite Valley http://www.softschools.com/facts/us_national_landmarks/yosemite_national_park_facts/519/
  13. Denali National Park/Mount McKinley http://www.denali101.com/denalinationalpark/visiting_Denali_National_Park.html
  14. Yellowstone National Park http://www.softschools.com/facts/us_national_landmarks/yellowstone_national_park_facts/518/
  15. Grand Canyon http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/earth/grandcanyon.html
  16. Niagara Falls http://www.niagarafallslive.com/facts_about_niagara_falls.htm
  17. The Badlands/Black Hills http://www.blackhillsbadlands.com/parks-monuments/black-hills-national-forest http://traveltips.usatoday.com/badlands-national-park-fun-facts-13159.html
  18. Taos Pueblo http://taospueblo.com/about/
  19. Vietnam War Memorial http://thewall-usa.com/information.asp
  20. Liberty Bell http://www.enchantedlearning.com/history/us/monuments/libertybell/
  21. US Capitol Building https://www.aoc.gov/capitol-buildings/about-us-capitol-building
  22. Statue of Liberty http://www.american-historama.org/1881-1913-maturation-era/statue-of-liberty-facts-kids.htm
  23. Tenochtitlan http://aztecs.mrdonn.org/tenochtitlan.html 
  24. Bay of Fundy http://www.bayoffundy.com/about/
  25. Dinosaur Provincial Park https://www.britannica.com/place/Dinosaur-Provincial-Park 
  26. Disney World http://www.wdwmagic.com/walt-disney-world-history.htm
  27. Basilica of Our Lady of Guadalupe http://www.sacred-destinations.com/mexico/mexico-city-basilica-guadalupe

South America:

http://misadventuresmag.com/14-most-stunning-natural-landmarks-in-centralsouth-america/

http://study.com/academy/lesson/andes-mountains-facts-location-quiz.html

 


  1. Easter Island http://www.scienceforkidsclub.com/easter-island.html
  2. Machu Picchu http://factsforkids.net/machu-picchu-facts-kids-south-america/
  3. Nazca Lines http://www.ancient-code.com/20-facts-about-the-nazca-lines/
  4. The White City of Arequipa http://texcolca1.tripod.com/body/arequipa.html http://www.infoperu.com/en/view.php?p=61
  5. Perito Moreno Glacier, Patagonia http://wiki.kidzsearch.com/wiki/Perito_Moreno_Glacier
  6. Iguazu Falls http://www.softschools.com/facts/wonders_of_the_world/iguazu_falls_facts/140/
  7. The Great Blue Hole http://www.theunusualfacts.com/2012/10/great-blue-hole-of-belize.html
  8. Lençóis Maranhenses National Park, Maranhão http://tenrandomfacts.com/lencois-maranhenses-national-park/ http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/Lencois-maranhenses-brazil-thousands-clear-blue-lagoons-in-sand-dunes-180951756/
  9. Vale Da Lua, or “The Valley of the Moon” http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/vale-da-lua
  10. The Salt Flats https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Salar_de_Uyuni
  11. Caño Cristales River, or the “Liquid Rainbow” http://tenrandomfacts.com/cano-cristales/ http://www.amusingplanet.com/2011/10/cano-cristales-river-of-five-colors.html
  12. Cave of Crystals, Chihuahua http://www.beautifulworld.com/north-america/mexico/cave-of-the-crystals/
  13. Bioluminescent Bay http://www.vieques-island.com/biobay.shtml
  14. Mount Roraima http://www.beautifulworld.com/south-america/guyana/mount-roraima/ http://tenrandomfacts.com/mount-roraima/
  15. Angel Falls http://factsforkids.net/angel-falls-facts-kids-highest-waterfall/
  16. Galapagos Islands http://www.scienceforkidsclub.com/galapagos-islands.html http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/earth/galapagosislands.html
  17. “Christ the Redeemer” Statue http://www.softschools.com/facts/wonders_of_the_world/christ_the_redeemer_facts/76/
  18. Amazon Rain Forest http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/earth/amazonrainforest.html
  19. Andes Mountain Chain http://wiki.kidzsearch.com/wiki/Andes http://thefreeresource.com/facts-about-the-andes-mountains-for-kids/
  20. Sarisariñama Sinkholes, Venezuela http://www.amusingplanet.com/2015/02/the-sinkholes-of-cerro-sarisarinama.html
  21. Ausangate Trek, Peru https://www.machupicchutrek.net/hike-to-machu-picchu/ausangate-trek/
 

Africa:

http://www.wondermondo.com/Af.htm

http://africageographic.com/blog/the-7-natural-wonders-of-africa/


  1. Great Sphinx http://www.ducksters.com/history/ancient_egypt/great_sphinx.php
  2. Vallée de Mai http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/261 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vall%C3%A9e_de_Mai
  3. Tassili N'Ajjer http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/179
  4. Erta Ale Volcano https://www.volcanodiscovery.com/erta_ale.html
  5. Mount Nyiragongo Volcano https://www.volcanodiscovery.com/nyiragongo.html
  6. Dallol salt springs and geysers http://www.nationalparks-worldwide.info/eaf/ethiopia/north-east/dalol.html
  7. Victoria Falls http://easyscienceforkids.com/all-about-victoria-falls/
  8. Avenue of the Baobabs http://naturalwondersofafrica.com/avenue-of-the-baobabs/
  9. Mount Kilimanjaro http://factsforkids.net/mount-kilimanjaro-facts-kids/
  10. Lake Tele http://www.wondermondo.com/Countries/Af/CongoR/Likuala/LakeTele.htm
  11. The Nile River http://www.primaryhomeworkhelp.co.uk/egypt/nile.htm
  12. The Red Sea Reef http://www.coral-reef-info.com/red-sea-coral-reefs.html
  13. The Sahara Desert http://www.ducksters.com/history/africa/sahara_desert.php
  14. Okavango Delta https://www.afrizim.com/places/Botswana/Parks/Okavango.asp
  15. Ngorongoro Crater http://tenrandomfacts.com/ngorongoro-crater/ http://www.beautifulworld.com/africa/tanzania/ngorongoro-crater/
  16. Cairo Citadel http://www.beautifulworld.com/africa/tanzania/ngorongoro-crater/
  17. Cairo Tower http://www.touregypt.net/featurestories/cairotower.htm
  18. Lake Nyos http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/lake-nyos-the-deadliest-lake-in-the-world
  19. Limestone Chimneys of Lake Abbe http://www.amusingplanet.com/2014/10/travertine-chimneys-of-lake-abbe.html
  20. Oldupai Gorge (Olduvai Gorge) http://www.livescience.com/40455-olduvai-gorge.html
  21. Fairy rings in Hartmann's Valley and Giribes Plains http://phenomena.nationalgeographic.com/2013/03/28/africas-weird-fairy-circles-are-termite-built-water-traps/

Australia:

http://australianlandmarks.com.au/lists/australian-man-made-landmarks-top-10-list

http://www.australianlandmarks.com.au/lists/australian-landmarks-top-10-list

http://australianlandmarks.com.au/map/map-of-australian-landmarks

 

http://webecoist.momtastic.com/2012/05/11/12-amazing-natural-wonders-of-australia/


  1. Sydney Opera House http://factsforkids.net/sydney-opera-house-facts-kids/
  2. Melbourne Cricket Ground http://www.mcg.org.au/about-us/about-the-mcg http://www.boundround.com/attractions/things-to-do-with-kids-and-families-australia-victoria-melbourne-melbourne-cricket-ground-mcg http://wiki.kidzsearch.com/wiki/Melbourne_Cricket_Ground
  3. The Pinnacles http://mooreriverholidays.com.au/15-fast-facts-about-the-pinnacles/
  4. The Parliament House http://www.peo.gov.au/learning/closer-look/australias-parliament-house.html
  5. Cape Byron Lighthouse http://www.byron-bay.com/byronbay/lighthouse.html
  6. Fraser Island http://www.remotetraveler.com/fraser-coast-queensland/fraser-island/
  7. Uluru - Ayres Rock http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/earth/uluru.html
  8. Heart Reef http://www.queensland.com/en-us/attraction/heart-reef
  9. The Great Barrier Reef http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/earth/greatbarrierreef.html
  10. Kakadu National Park http://www.parksaustralia.gov.au/kakadu/people/amazing-facts.html
  11. Kangaroo Island https://www.kangarooislandodysseys.com.au/kangaroo-island/
  12. Blue Mountains http://wiki.kidzsearch.com/wiki/Blue_Mountains_(New_South_Wales) http://www.greaterbluemountainsdrive.com.au/world-heritage-area/fast-facts
  13. Shark Bay http://oceanside.com.au/facts/
  14. Bungle Bungles http://www.helispirit.com.au/blog/6-facts-about-the-bungle-bungles/
  15. The Horizontal Falls http://www.amusingplanet.com/2012/10/horizontal-waterfalls-in-talbot-bay.html
  16. Wave Rock http://www.skwirk.com/p-c_s-11_u-101_t-249_c-834/wave-rock/nsw/wave-rock/an-ancient-land/ancient-australian-landforms
  17. Lake Eyre http://wiki.kidzsearch.com/wiki/Lake_Eyre
  18. Tasmanian Wilderness http://wiki.kidzsearch.com/wiki/Tasmanian_Wilderness http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/181
  19. Australian Fossil Mammal Sites / Victoria Fossil Cave http://www.mountgambierpoint.com.au/caves/victoria-fossil-cave/ http://www.environment.sa.gov.au/naracoorte/discover/under-the-ground/victoria-fossil-cave
  20. Daintree Rainforest http://discoverthedaintree.com/daintree-rainforest-6/
  21. Twelve Apostles http://encyclopedia.kids.net.au/page/th/The_Twelve_Apostles http://www.visitvictoria.com/Regions/Great-Ocean-Road/Things-to-do/Nature-and-wildlife/Beaches-and-coastlines/12-Apostles.aspx
  22. Katherine Gorge http://www.nttc.com.au/katherine-gorge
  23. Simpson Desert http://www.5factsabout.com/articles/5-facts-about-Simpson-Desert/ http://wiki.kidzsearch.com/wiki/Simpson_Desert
  24. The Three Sisters http://thethreesistersnsw.weebly.com/interesting-facts.html http://www.bluemts.com.au/info/thingstodo/threesisters/